Hosted by Music NT, the National Indigenous Music Awards recognises excellence in the Indigenous music community. Now in their 12th year, the awards were held in Darwin and the night was a celebration of the best and brightest talent, including performances from triple j Unearthed NIMA competition winner Kuren, The Medics frontman Kahl Wallis, Gawurra and Bad Apples’ own A.B. Original.

Briggs’ took out Song of the Year for his collaboration with Gurrumul and Dewayne Everettsmith on “The Children Came Back”, an homage and part two, of sorts, to Archie Roach’s “Took the Children Away”, from his 1990 album, “Charcoal Lane”. This year marks the 40th anniversary of the first land rights act, the 50th anniversary of Gurindji Freedom Day and the 25th anniversary of Yothu Yindi’s “Treaty”. To honour this legacy, the NIMAs celebrated the history of Indigenous protest songs with an incredible line-up.

2016 NIMA winners:

Artist of the Year:
Gurrumul Yunupingu

Album of the Year:
Gawurra – Ratja Yaliyali

Song of the Year:
Briggs, Dewayne Everettsmith & Gurrumul – “The Children Came Back”

New Talent:

Cover Art:
Gawurra – Ratja Yaliyali

Film Clip
Gawurra – ‘Oh Ratja Yaliyali’

Traditional Song of the Year
Ishmael Marika – ‘Two Sisters Journey’

Hall of Fame
Kutcha Edwards